It’s true, He is no good at math. He can’t do addition, He can’t multiply correctly. He’s just bad at math.

I mean, in my church, we pay tithing, which is 10% of our income, to the church to help pay for building projects, church construction, maintenance, fund programs, help subsidize education and other things that the Church sees fit to fund. We are also encouraged to donate to other funds like humanitarian aid, food for the needy, missionary efforts, etc. For all intents and purposes, let’s just work with the 10% though.

One summer during high school I had a carnival job, my parents provided a car, I paid for the insurance and the gas. I made decent money for a part-time, summer employee, but near the end of the summer, I lost my job. I was left with about 200 dollars for the next 3-4 months. That comes out to about $50-60 per  month, usable cash. Minus insurance (I paid half, parents paid half), leaves me at about 10-15 bucks a month MAX. My high school had no bus system, so I had to drive to church and then to school every day, because my parents had other responsibilities and couldn’t take me. In an SUV from the 80s I was averaging 13 mpg and driving at least 4 miles a day. That’s 20 miles a week, 80 miles a month, and I’ll round up to 7 gallons per month. 7 gallons at 2.80 comes out to over 15 dollars. So without spending any money at all on food (school lunch) activities, clothing, entertainment, or anything other than gas and insurance, I should still have been in the hole. There was even a time when I was down to 0 dollars and my car ran on fumes for probably 40 miles.

Here’s the math. Summer pay -10%(tithing) = $200
$200 – $240 = -$40

Here’s what God seems to have done with my money and resources:
Malachi 3:10
 “Bring ye all the tithes into the storehouse, that there may be meat in mine house, and prove me now herewith, saith the Lord of hosts, if I will not open you the windows of heaven, and pour you out a blessing, that there shall not be room enough to receive it.”

Income – 10% = infinity; or maybe at least something like — Income -10% is greater than or equal to original income

 

The 2nd example has to do with school. Basic math here: the more you study, and the better you study, the better grades you will get. That’s how it’s always been.
I learned as I studied the New Testament that the Holy Spirit can bring all things to our remembrance, and in the Book of Mormon, we learn that when we worthily take the Sacrament and remember Christ and His sacrifice, we will have the Spirit with us always.

It was a Saturday, and I was doing some last minute studying for a Latin exam I had Monday morning at 7am. I had been struggling in the class and was pulling a solid D average. Not good. I got a feeling that I should put away my school things and use my Saturday evening to prepare for the Sabbath Day, Sunday, the day for the Sacrament. Trying my own faith, I put away my books and study materials, and studied the New Testament instead. I didn’t think about my exam on Sunday, but rather focused on the Savior and His Atonement and teachings.
I got a B+ on the exam and brought my overall grade up to a C+

God’s math: Available time to study – weekend + spend time thinking about other things (specifically Christ) = better grades.

 

Exhibit C: Marriage

Many have heard that marriage has to be a 50/50 relationship, with each partner giving as an equal. I totally agreed with this, until I was taught about the 100/100 rule. If both partners gives 50%, then there will be 100% to work with. If both partners give 100%, however, there will consistently be more than 100% to work with, 200% in fact. This is incredibly helpful when one spouse isn’t doing so hot. When I’m at less than 100%, if my wife is still giving it her all, we can hold our ground above the 100% mark, and be an excellent and happy couple, and vice versa.

The day that Rachel and I were married was one of the best days of my life. Everything went right, we both said ‘yes’, family arrived safely, the weather went from sunshiney morning, which we love, to slightly overcast (which would be our second pick if we couldn’t have sunshine). Lunch was fantastic, and Rachel’s mom had put together a smashing reception. Then Rachel threw up in the bathroom. We decided to go home.

The vomiting got worse and worse. She threw up for about 13 hours, from 9pm Friday till 10am Saturday morning. Needless to say, she was not at 100%, probably down around 25, maybe less. The good news is that I was feeling well, uncontrollably concerned (as I hope any newlywed husband would be if his bride had been vomiting for over 10 hours), but health-wise, I was great. I had plenty of energy and ability to help as much as possible, and I worked at my 100% for most of the night. We were still up over 100%. She wasn’t, was trying, but I’m sure I fell down to 75% or maybe lower, but with the 100/100 principle, knowing that we could go over the 100% for the two of us, we were going to be okay.

Knowing that we were okay, was good, because she atarted getting better on Saturday morning, right as I hit the beginning of the worst. She slowly made her way back up to 50 or 60 percent as I started my 12-hour shift behind the porcelain bus. Even though I was not doing well anymore, she was doing much better and was able to make up for my lack. We both had our bad spots, but trying to put in as much as we could, we as a whole and as a new unit, were still above or close to 100%. Even if we both had only been capable of giving 50%, we’d have been at 100. Fortunately for me, I married a woman who’s willing to give that 100%. That means that we’ll consistently have more than 100% to work with. Also fortunate for me, God apparently isn’t aware that 100% is a maximum, and He believes that we can have more than that. He also believes that marriage and family is the most important institution on the face of the earth. So when I give my all for our marriage, and Rachel gives her all for our marriage, God matches our efforts with His own.

 

God’s math: man’s 100% + woman’s 100%= 300% at the very least. It’s probably more like infinity.

God’s no good at math, and my life is all the better for it.

