I’m three weeks into the year and three books into my challenge. I decided that I wanted to read George Orwell’s Animal Farm, because I liked 1984 so much. Since my wife has challenged me to a duel to find the best book, my goal here is to convince you to read Animal Farm also.

If you haven’t read it, you should. It’s a short read that exposes the flaws of man, but represents man perfectly well in animal form. The book tells the story of a pig-led rebellion against Mr. Jones and the utopian animal-run farm, by the animals, of the animals, and for the animals. Everyone lives together in peace and cooperation. Everyone even comes up with a set of rules to live by and they have a beautiful anthem they sing often.

Everything works out fine for a while, until Animal Farm follows in the footsteps of the Russian Revolution. The book is full of colorful descriptions and made me stop and think about society these days—how we behave like dumb animals all too often! I don’t want to give too much away, but here are some good quotes:

“Four legs good! Two legs bad!”

“All animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others.”

“Man serves the interests of no creature except himself”

“Clover was a stout motherly mare approaching middle life, who had never quite got her figure back after her fourth foal.”

Anyone who appreciates good novels of social protest or utopia/dystopia should read Animal Farm.

