America is decidedly against Communism.

If there’s one thing I’ve learned from reading great American classics, it’s that we value our individuality and out independence more than just about anything else. And it shows in the literature that we value, and the literature that we teach in the schools.

I hadn’t read A Wrinkle in Time since I was a kid, so all I could remember from the book was the whole concept of tessering, or wrinkling the fabric of space and time for the sake of travel. Instead of traveling from point A to point B, you bring point B closer to you, take one step, and then put point B back where it was originally.

As an adult, I can assure you that this book is still for children, but it brings in some really important concepts that adults really need to understand. I think that hit me hardest as I read was again that whole idea that we as Americans find Communism to be an abomination. At one point, the children in the book find themselves on a planet with a host brain. Everyone does the same thing, everyone works in a perfect rhythm, everyone is in sync, and nothing ever steps out of line. It was rather reminiscent of The Giver and that whole idea of a community with no mistakes.

The reason we seem to find Communism so terrifying is that idea of everyone being exactly the same. When everything must be exactly alike, we start to lose our individuality and our freedom in order to conform (and thereby survive). We are deeply influenced by the main idea of Invictus, and we not only believe that we are the captains of our own souls, but we demand that we have the opportunity to be so. We believe that Communism is bad and restrictive, so we write about it.

America loves The Giver, A Wrinkle in Time, 1984, Animal Farm, Fahrenheit 451, and just about any other dystopia novel. The dystopia is almost always Communism gone wrong. I think we continue to try to prove to ourselves that Communism will never work.

Regardless, this was still an excellent novel. I like that Madeline L’Engle was unashamed of inserting her own Christian beliefs into the novel. I like that the main characters are children. I like crazy, ridiculous, time-travelly adventures.

I recommend it.

