I went to see The Giver last week, and there was a preview for Maze Runner-the movie, and it looked great, so I figured I’d get the book and read it first. I got the book on Tuesday and finished it on Friday. It was really good.

Maze Runner is a page-turning dystopian scifi thriller that kept me reading even when I should have been doing other things, like sleeping. It’s the story of a boy named Thomas who wakes up in a courtyard called The Glade that’s surrounded by a giant maze that opens every morning and closes every night, trapping the boys in the Glade while protecting them from the Grievers, giant mechanical monsters that roam the maze at night. Runners go out and explore the Maze, mapping it out and monitoring how it changes every day, trying to find a way out. Some of the boys have been there for over two years.

I don’t want to give away too much, because I want people to read it. I will tell you that there are a lot of things you wouldn’t expect and that Maze Runner is not your typical dystopian Hunger Games repeat. The novel seems to even set itself up for a zombie apocalypse later in the series.

We can only hope.

