Lois Lowry did a very good job of putting her quartet together. Son was a wonderful way to end the series. I still think that The Giver is my favorite of the four novels, but Son takes a close second. I’ll probably be reading it again sometime soon.

Son is about a woman named Claire whose son was taken from her at birth. She ends up going on a long and arduous search to find him. The first half of this book ends up being a beautiful metaphor for postpartum depression (which I don’t really understand; I know what it is, just not what it feels like to fight it). It highlighted how long and arduous of a fight it really is to deal with that kind of loss, and how misunderstood a person can feel if they’re in the middle of that journey.

I don’t want to give too much away, because I want people to  read it. I will say that I learned from reading this series that we can’t create a perfect world, and if we try too hard, we’re going to make a mess. We need to celebrate the differences that we have and use the talents and gifts that we have to build each other up instead of tearing each other down. We need to recognize that we’re not the same, and that’s okay. We need to recognize that being different doesn’t make us better or worse than anyone else.

What we need most is to love and be willing to accept people with their flaws and help them  find the strengths and talents that they have deep within them.

