“Darkness cannot put out darkness; only light can do that”
-Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Where Do We Go from Here? 1967

A Call to Conscience is a collection of speeches by Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Spanning from 1955 to 1968, various of Dr. King’s most important or most influential speeches are included in the book with introductions from various civil rights leaders and individuals whose careers or lives were directly influenced by the speeches they heard from Dr. King.

I wasn’t alive during what have been dubbed “The King Years”. I never had the opportunity to hear these speeches in person, and through faults of my own, I hadn’t before been exposed to any of Dr. King’s speeches other than I Have A Dream.

This book changed my life.

It would be far inadequate for me to try and explain here what these speeches did for me, so I’ll just include my favorite here below. If you’d rather read it yourself, click here. Enjoy.

