This was a good year.

I read 42 books, I got a job at a bookstore, I graduated from college, and I kept my son alive the whole time.

My favorite book of 2015

Watchman

My definite favorite book of the year was Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee. It talked about a lot of issues we need to deal with today. It’s a beautiful companion to To Kill a Mockingbird. It’s an important piece of literary history. It’s the only new book I got excited about this year.
But most of all, it hit me with the feels train.
pXBrf
Rarely do books make me emotional. I read them, lots of people die in them, everyone gets betrayed, fathers disown their children, etc. and I’m totally fine. Somehow though, Go Set a Watchman managed to cross that wall that I have up in my mind separating fact from fiction, and it made me think about what I need to be doing in order to be a decent human being. 5 stars.

My least favorite book of 2015

Throne of Glass

Throne of Glass is a terrible book. Don’t waste your time like I did.
I resolved to finish this one because I wanted it to get better. It didn’t.
Then I resolved to finish it to prove to myself that I could read an entire book even if I didn’t like it.
Don’t do that to yourself.

Books I didn’t get around to blogging about

 

My goal for next year

I’m going to be reading 50 books  from 50 different genres that I’ve chosen at the bookstore I work at, Pioneer Book.
The catch: I’ll be selecting them while blindfolded.
DSCN0477

DSCN0503
My first book for 2016 is Suze Orman’s Money Book for the Young, Fabulous, & Broke.

 

