I tried… I really tried.
But I had to just give up on this book.

I’ve been trying to finish Knocking on Heaven’s Door for over a month now, and I’m throwing in the towel at page 113.

The concept is great: The books subtitle is American Religion in the Age of Counterculture. The book addresses what happened to religion in the 1960s when countercultures were generally widespread. Where did countercultures fit into the religious scene? Mark Oppenheimer tries to answer this question, but he uses high-brow language (referring to city-people as burghers) and talks in endless circles while proving no points about anything.
Again, great concept, but terrible execution.

So I give up, and now I know not to try and casually read anything from Yale University Press.

I regret nothing.

