Philosophy is.

Boring.

Michel de Montaigne wrote a bunch of essays 500 years ago. He wrote a few really good ones that someone decided to include in a collection of Selections from the Essays. Of these selections, I gleaned 3 or 4 good points. It was like a funnel. Pour in a lot of gibberish, select 150 pages worth, and then get 3 or 4 drops of goodness. I think I would have preferred something more like Quotes from the Essays, so I didn’t have to dig through all the garbage to get to the good stuff.

Here’s a highlight reel:

  • If you have inconsistencies in your values, you are inconsistent. Inconsistent people cannot understand an unchanging God.

That’s actually it.

Anyone who claims to love philosophy or Montaigne is kidding themselves and putting on airs.*

1/5 stars.


*I’m not sorry for offending you if you love philosophy. Montaigne did say, “I think about myself more than any other subject,” and that’s a bit narcissistic, if you ask me.

